Hurry Up and Wait.

A few months back, I came across a book called ‘In Praise of Slowness’ by Carl Honore. I ended up buying it for my Dad for Christmas, which I genuinely do hope he reads, but it was mostly a secret gift for me. I am creating a stationery store for my final project before I graduate. It’s still in the research phase, which is largely focused on defending the relevance of this type of store in a digital world. There is already a list of stationery stores in Vancouver, and I’m aware this is not a new concept. I do know that to help maintain interest on a semester long project, I have to be sold on its concept.

Since I came across Honore’s book I have wondered whether this is going to become a new trend. Maybe it’s already lumped under the same category as ‘Green’ and being enviro-friendly, and now you can understand why I would be attracted to a book with the word ‘slow’ in it. I’d like to think it’s not, and I was excited today when I came across this article.

PLUS: The lovely Mark Weaver did the illustration/image for it! If anyone knows of related links, feel free to enlighten me!

One Response to Hurry Up and Wait.

  1. I check almost every day for new things, I thought we were blogging together. Our love was built in a house of lies! LIES!!!

Leave a Reply

