Art Show Postcard: Roughs

One of my pals Chris asked me if I would design a postcard size flyer for a group art show he was hosting with his other artist friends. I was real excited to work with Chris, he’s so easygoing and I love his paintings! See the next post for samples of his talents.

The idea behind the show was pretty simple. For several of the artists, it was their first show, so they were quite literally bringing everything they had, pulling out all the stops, if you will. I remember how I felt at my grad show, a little vulnerable, but excited, then nervous, etc. As far as the design of these cards, Chris asked that the type start by bleeding off the edge and would prefer a sans serif typeface. From there I did a bit of exploring with textures and backgrounds, trying to get in to the wonderful artsy-ness of it all. And by that I mean I found left over silver spray paint, some watercolor paints, and a bright yellow plastic bag in my closets and ran with it. See the final result and event pics on my next post!

Leave a Reply

